At House of Townend we have a wide range of vegetarian wines available. We have made great efforts to handpick some of the top vegetarian wines from regions all over the world, offering beautiful wine experiences for vegetarians.
Why vegetarian wine?
The vegetarian diet omits animal flesh but permits dairy and eggs. As such, many wines are unsuitable for those following a vegetarian diet due to fining.
None of our vegetarian wine collection features any products which have used any animal-derived products as finings. Fining is done to clarify the wine and proteins such as egg whites, gelatine and milk are commonly used as part of this process. Vegetarian wines use veggie-friendly materials such as clay or charcoal, as well as alternative processes to fine the wine without the need for animal products.
We have a wide range available to suit all tastes, from vegetarian red and white wine through to vegetarian rosé. We also stock vegan wines which do not include eggs or dairy – so if you are shopping for a vegan friend or following a vegan diet ensure you visit that page.